Posted in book reviews, books, reviews, Uncategorized

Book Review: Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Another book review, good progress right on this TBR list?

So this is the second time I am reviewing this book. That’s how much I love it, that I wanted to put it on this blog as well as for the university magazine.Β howl and sophoe

I found this book very nostalgic and a lovely break from the ever-so-hardcore university reading that I am subjected too. It certainly gave me flash-backs to summer holiday reading as a child and I loved the feel of the book!

Sophie Hatter is living her normal, boring life as the unlucky oldest child in Market Chipping. She doesn’t feel exceptional in any way whatsoever and her luck gets even worst when she happens to catch the eye of the Witch of the Waste. And then she gets turned into an old lady.

Yep, ladies and gents- but please don’t worry so much because as abnormal as she is she actually doesn’t mind being an old lady! In fact she uses it as a way of getting away from Β her old life and thus starts the beginning of her journey with Howl.

So if you likold lady sophiee talking fire demons chilling in fireplaces, egotistical wizards with dating problems and life lessons in the means of self-discovery then this is the book for you.
Oh yeah, and you may have noticed that Ghibli adapted the book into a movie, which is actually how I first found out about it despite the original novel having been published since 1986.

I know this is a story that I’ll be revisiting and hopefully passing down throughout the years- that’s how good a book it is.

Also, you will totally fall in love with Howl’s character ( I know I said he was egotistical but he’s actually a good guy).

Five stars rating *****

Speak soon and stay awesome ;P

-E xxx

Leave a Reply

