Posted in Diary Entry, life update

Boxing Day; Cousins, Realisations and A Lot of Trivia

Hi guys, just thought I’d have a little check in to let you know how my day’s been. I mean technically it’s the 27th now but oh well we can pretend right.

I have had a dawning realisation since being home in this town and that’s that I’ve grownwho-cares out of a lot of things. The things that were important to me before are not anymore – not in a bad sense but just that they don’t mean life or death to me anymore as they used to.

I can live without a lot of things, I even find myself turning down social interactions just so I can crack on with my writing (you must have noticed that I’ve been a lot more active on this blog). I used to care about the number of likes and views on my blog, now I just care about the therapeutic nature of writing and having a place where I can store my life and memories.

So, what have I done today?

My Auntie and cousins came down from Coventry to visit us for boxing day and to be
honest I was a little apprehensive about the idea due to all the work I have had to do. In the end I really enjoyed going down and messing around with them all. It was a lot of fun meeting my cousins new boyfriend, chatting about anime and me lecturing them both on WW2 and literature.

(They’re both about to do their GCSE’s you see)

And joking around with my Aunt and Uncle, and chasing my little 7 year old cousin around the house- although the little sod did accidentally kick me in the throat. My friend Freya would have been impressed with his karate moves aha!

And then my parents friends Helen and Alex joined us too and we chatted about books and university life. It was incredibly fun, and then my cousins et al left and we all played trivia. Danny (brother) got peed off that he didn’t know any of the answers though and went upstairs sulkily.

Funny boy.

So yeah that’s howboxing-day my days been thus far. After that, I headed upstairs, danced to some Bowie and did some linguistic work. I was going to crack on with my Hero and Leander poem but to be honest I want a whole day to invest into researching and writing that up. And I was in the mood to get some work done whilst listening to music (something I can only do when writing notes and not when I actually have to be paying attention).

But yes, this has been my day. I could probably get through another workshop for linguistics but I’m knackered and would much rather watch some netflix and drift to sleep.

Also, I might as well document that my emotions have been a roller coaster of late and I stayed up till three am last night writing angrily in my journal and listening to The Clash.

I truly am a strange one…

-E

xxx

P.S. ^^^ This is pretty much the only thing that comes up on Google Images when you type in Boxing Day gif…

 

Leave a Reply

