Posted in film reviews

Movie Review:Austenland

So I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t really read much Austen… or any to be fair. I attempted Emma and hated the character so much darcythat it put me off of her other works. Which are currently still sitting on my bookshelf collecting dust.

But after watching the film Austenland for the second time in a row, I have to admit that I think I’m ready to take on Mr Darcy.

So the story revolves around an Austen mad girl that’s never been lucky in love because she’s dealing with 21st century men. Her way of solving this issue is spending all her savings on going on holiday to England, to Austenland. Yep, you’ve guessed it the guests live out a regency style fantasy with actors that they fall in love with. But as with all things, reality and fantasy gets intertwined and confused and Jane is stuck in the middle wandering what it is she really wants.

tally-hoSo there’s a whole load of strapping young men and one Jane, even though she got the crappy copper package at Austenland, I bet you can already predict that there’s going to be a lot of men to choose from…

I have to admit one of my favourite parts was Mrs. Charming, the fellow American women who turns up there. She’s absolutely hilarious, albeit quite vague minded.

I won’t spoil anything more for you there, but the cast is full of cooky and brilliant characters and honestly this is one of my favourite feel-good movies.ย funny-austen

I give it a 5/5 review if you like rom-coms, cheesy characters and lots of giggles. And oh yeah, Jane Austen obviously hehe. I feel like the gifs reflect how great this movie is in my
eyes. So head up onto netflix and get watching- oooh and let me know in the comments about what you thought.

Merry Christmas! Or tally- ho in Mrs. Charmings case haha!

-E

xxx

Leave a Reply

