Posted in fiction, short stories

The Mage’s Tale ~ Part Two, The Ophelia Chronicles

2

“Is she awake? Oooh she’s got a pointy stick!” A young girls voice with a thick French accent said. 

“Josie, she’s a mage.” Said a more serious man as I came too, letting the world blur back into existence. 

“She’s awake!” Josie exclaimed in excitement and I put the faces to the voices. I rubbed my head and looked at the woman with long blue and silver hair and a dimpled smile. She was beautiful and obviously, an elf like me but of what ability I was uncertain of. Her aura was filled with charisma and energy and I could tell we were going to get on immediately.

The other guy was a lot more angsty looking. Like a member of a rock band. He had a deep Irish lilt to his voice and was admittedly very good looking with his untidy black hair and piercing blue eyes. 

The latter of which were looking at me very unimpressed. 

I scrambled to my feet and looked at the world they’d created, I had only world bounding had always been brief – I got travel sick easily.

“I like what you’ve done with the place,” I said as I took in the sunny sky and green grass outside the castle window. I then went on to ask the more obvious question, “But what’re you guys doing here? Especially at the bottom of an icy cave.” I raised an eyebrow at the two of them. 

Josie was about to answer but the guy clapped a hand over her mouth and I could tell from the look on his face that he was willing her to be quiet before telling me anything he hadn’t approved. He stepped forward and crossed his well-toned arms.

“More importantly, who are you and how did you find us. Did the Gladiators send you?” His tone was hostile and I couldn’t help but laugh at his obvious attempt to try and use tell-tale magic to get me to spill the beans. 

My laughter put him off his spell and the black tendrils abruptly dissipated as he registered my reaction. 

“No need for that, mate. I’ll tell you what you need to know. My name’s Ophelia and I’m an elemental mage- specialities water- ironic I know. And as for the Gladiators, as if they would send someone like me! Ha! In fact, I think I’m on their most wanted list at the moment.” I twirled a piece of hair around my finger thoughtfully as I walked towards the window and absent mindedly changed the time to evening and dotted stars in the sky with a mere motion of my hand.

“How did she do that?” Josie mumbled under her breath in awe. I turned and smirked at her.

“But you still haven’t said how you found us?” He challenged, raising an eyebrow at me. I twisted and glared at him.

“And you still haven’t told me what your name is. I know hers is Josie. And what class are you both?” Now it was my turn to raise an eyebrow, mocking his stern gaze. He growled a little and stayed stubborn, “Huh, sorry what was that I couldn’t make out those incoherent noises but if you’re going to be like that then I guess there’s nothing for it but for me to find out myself. Hmmmm is it Fred?” I teased him watching him shake his head. I tapped my temple and then tried again, “Then what about Dom? No, I can tell by your face you think that I’m never going to succeed-”

“Not in a million years will you guess my name, and there’s no way I would tell a girl I had known for a few minutes and who fell out of the sky.” He said haughtily, leaning against the wall nonchalantly. I could tell that Josie, his mild companion was getting bored of this entire thing and looking at him pleadingly.

“Constantine. And you’re a wizard, naturally. A black magic wielder but fighting for the good side for once. You’re on the run from the Gladiators and eh, you thought you’d use your magic to wake and tame a dragon to your command. But that didn’t quite work out did it now?” I smirked and watched as both of their mouths fell open in disbelief.

“No way.” He remarked, looking at me with a strange expression on his face. I circled him and sat down in the middle of the room, looking up at the both.

“Oh yes way, now it’s your fault I’m stuck in this situation. I was chased by your dragon friend and now you two are going to stop hiding in this place and help me.”

“Huh?” They said in unison, looking up at me with wide eyes. I smiled, I could tell this was going to be a story to tell the grand kids.

END OF PART TWO.

Leave a Reply

