Posted in fiction, short stories

The Mage’s Tale ~ Part Three, The Ophelia Chronicles

3

“So, let me get this straight, you lost his what?” Asked Josie as she was following my life story up to this point whilst Constantine sulked behind us.

We were winding our way through the underground tunnels inside the mountain. Me leading the way with my flame in hand.

“His recipe book.” I said moping a little.

“It must have been a really important spell book to send you all the way out here…” She said to me, imagining something far more glamourous than the reality of the situation.

“Nah, it was his signed copy of the Great British Bakeoff’s Summer Treats by Mary Berry. It was quite old to be fair- back a couple of centuries when it was only humans.” I said, and saw her face fall a little bit.

“Mary who-”

Suddenly there was a loud rumble and a screeching sound. The floor shook and licks of fire started crashing down towards us.

“Aaaaaaaaghhhhhh!” The two of them screamed and began running backwards whilst I stood there calmly.

“What the hell are you doing! Run you nutcase!” Constantine screamed out in rage and bewilderment.

I concentrated and pulled out my staff, I raised it and thought of the fire as waves of water in the ocean. I thought of the chaos of the sea, the way it rose above me, and the heat that surrounded and enclosed me dulled in temperature before being doused completely.

My body had become 100% water in that instant as it swirled around and got rid of the flames.  I stretched and my physique became more solid, moving from the form of water, to ice, to stone and then finally I was me again.

I stood, exhausted in front of the two of them as they again gaped at me.

“What is it that you two can do again, I think I’d like to know just in case a situation like that occurs again. Cause damn am I knackered.” I said, holding my hips and breathing fast.

“Well, I can world bend and shapeshift.” Said Josie smiling cheerfully.

I turned to look at Constantine, his aura telling me that he felt embarrassed after the previous attack.

“I’m a black magic wielder as you already know, so I can control minds and create illusions. Along with a lot of other unpleasant things that I don’t wish to do or go into.” He said coldly, looking at me with a face that said he didn’t want to talk about it.

“As if taking control of someone’s mind wasn’t unpleasant enough.” I muttered.

With that we carried on until we reached a point where the path dwindled into a thin sheet of ice that had been burnt through. We all stooped to evaluate the dead end.

“Well now what? Got anything for this then Miss Know It All? This is why we were in that portal, because there’s no way to get out until that thing is dead.”

“And that’s where you’re wrong Mr Doom and Gloom,” I retorted as I begun stripping my clothes off and taking all my weapons out.

“Wait what’re you doing?” He asked uneasily turning away in mortification.

I turned to Josie, “You can shapeshift into anything, right? Because I’m going to need you to turn into something amphibious and come in after me, when I give you the signal create a portal. A strong one that resembles a prison.” I was now down to my undershirt and underwear. I knew I’d look back at this moment in time and cringe but until then this needed to be done.

Gary sure as heck wasn’t getting his damn crystals that was for sure. I just wanted to get out of this place and get wasted in a tavern somewhere.

I turned towards Constantine to see him with a small smile tugging at the corner of his lips. He seemed impressed with my willpower and lack of hopelessness.

“Well, if this is happening I guess I might as well ask how I can be of use?” He smirked and I looked at him and smiled.

“Glad to see you’re on board with the plan. Here’s the difficult bit, I need you to convince that huge ass dragon that I’m it’s mother.”

“Aaaah.” He replied and I could see him immediately regretting his decision.

I started to unwind one of the many braids in my hair and chucked him a vial that was attached to one of the threads in it. Yes, I know what you’re thinking I am both fashionable and functional.

I chucked it to him.

“Here drink this, it’ll allow you to breath for exactly ten minutes after consumption. We’ll need to be quick about this or we’ll all be dead.” His face changed from bemusement to fear in an instant as we all stood around and stared into the glittering blue pool that led to the sea dragons lair. Both a land and water animal, it made our odds annoyingly low but that just made our task more the thrilling.

“3….2….1…JUMP!” We all yelled together as we jumped into the water. There was a flash and I became one with the water, my body was a mere outline as merged into the element before then reforming into something more physical and water borne.

I twisted to sea Josie transformed into…. A mermaid, of course. And Constantine was in front of the both of us, edged in darkness I watched as we all approached the Dragon’s underwater lair.

There was a shake and then the beast emerged and screeched. It was a shame it was so aggressive because in truth it was beautiful. With silver scales and piercing amber eyes it was smaller than expected. I thought all this as it came thundering towards us, like a serpent it glided through the water easily and opened its mouth wide revealing its large white fangs.

I watched as Constantine dived at the beast, wrapping it in octopus like tendrils of darkness. It stopped and its eyes glazed over, making me think that he had killed it for a split second.

He turned towards me and motioned me forward, I did so and watched as he cast the black shadow over my body. Suddenly, the dragon was no more than the size of my hand, I felt motherly tenderness wash over me as its beauty became more apparent.

I don’t know how long I was in a trance for but when I came around I realised that the now tame dragon was being ushered towards Josie’s portal. The edges of my mind were being eaten away at by the shadows. And the strain was evident on both Constantine’s and Josie’s parts. And yet for some odd reason I felt myself getting closer and closer to the dragon.

She was awe-inspiring and her name suddenly came to my mind, although I couldn’t quite translate it into this language. Something had happened, we had become one for a second and I couldn’t quite differentiate myself from her. I was floating closer to her.

Constantine saw what I was about to do and tried to stop it, but he was low on air as the spell started to cease to work.

It was too late, I rested my hand against her forehead and there was a burst of silver light that encompassed us all.

And that’s when I passed out.

END OF PART THREE

Image credit: http://sirtiefling.deviantart.com/art/Stardazzle-369409785

Leave a Reply

