Posted in fiction, short stories

The Mage’s Tale ~ Part Four, The Ophelia Chronicles

4

I came too and started coughing up water. How funny that this was the second time I had woken up in a different place that day. I realised that I was lying on someone’s lap and as my eyes focused saw Constantine’s face looking down at me, mere inches away.

My lips had a strange tingling sensation too. As though they had been kissed by someone.

“DID YOU GIVE ME CPR?!” I cried out in embarrassment, I could feel my cheeks going red as I tried to stand up.

“Don’t freak out! I had too! Would you rather have drowned?” He said, raising his hands indignantly.

“Yes!” I cried out in anger and crossed my arms.

We were on the ice now and I could see the mountains in the background. The air was cool and the stiff breeze ran down my spine and made me shiver. I looked to the sky to see that the moons had nearly disappeared. I zoned out as I realised that I was just happy to be alive after that ordeal and then wondered where Josie was.

“I’ll have you know that you’re the first person to have said anything like that after having kissed me. Back home I’m known as quite a stud, yeah believe it! I’m a bit of lady killer-” I cut him off with a wave of my hand as I spotted two huge masses upon the horizon.

“Is that?” I enquired peering as the two things got closer and closer and realised that they were flying this way.

“Aaaah yes, we have some explaining to do. That’s Josie as a dragon over there, and that, I think she said was Moonstone… or brimstone… I forget what she said its name was….” He scratched his head and the two dragons alighted on the ground in front of us.

Josie shifted back into her human form. And I walked hesitantly towards the dragon. She lifted her head down towards me, and I stroked her smooth nose as she nuzzled into me. I smiled to myself as we both came eye to eye and then clambered on top.

Turning towards Constantine and Josie I smirked.

“Her name’s Moonstone, and she’s my familiar.”

THE END.

Image Credit: http://flamslade.deviantart.com/art/Silver-Dragon-321702787

P.S: Well I hope you guys enjoyed that 4 part story I randomly decided to write. It was only meant to be a short one like the other ones but I got a little carried away hehe. Anyway, it’s given me the idea to write more on Ophelia and her crew so watch this space. I will also be going back to doing some more normal posts soon too about books, my life in general and poetry. But I really am enjoying writing short stories! 

Leave a Reply

