Posted in fiction, short stories

A Mage’s Tale ~ Part 1, The Ophelia Chronicles

1

Picture this, you’re kindly minding your own business walking through the freezing cold in a famously barren and abandoned city when all of a sudden, a strange warmth surges up from under the glassy iced ground. 

At first you might be pleasantly surprised, as I was, at having your feet warmed in the sub-zero temperature. But then upon reflection, I realised that ice really shouldn’t be that hot. And that’s when I saw a dark shape shift from under the surface. 

“Crap!” I said as the ground started to splinter around me. I started to sprint away and that’s where I will freeze frame things for a second (no pun intended… well maybe a little).

My name is Ophelia, sorceress of the south and a very clumsy one at that. I was travelling through the Desolate Parts as a favour to a wizard to find some rare crystal only found in these parts. Of course, it would only be natural for something to go wrong. 

And that something just happened to be A MASSIVE DRAGON. 

And now let’s jump back to my present situation…. 

I sprinted across the sparse plain and squinted at a fast-approaching mountain ahead. I thought I could see a gap between two large boulders and taking my chances slid to my knees and into the small crevice. Lucky I did too, as at that precise moment the dragon smashed through its icy enclosure and out into the open. 

“Phew! I was nearly dinner!” I remarked casually as I wiped the sweat off my forehead. I wrapped my long black overcoat around me and ruffled my short brown hair feeling the braids frozen into place by the winter storm outside.

I looked around the dank space in front of me and saw the glimmer of a light in the background. I clicked my fingers and a blue flame summoned itself, alighting the path in front of me. 

The space was a lot bigger than it first gave away and as I walked through the cave I saw several different trails winding off into different directions- one of which the shimmering light was at the end of. 

“This better not be another bloody dragon,” I muttered to myself as I shifted my staff into enemy mode. I surrounded myself in a energy barrier and edged forward making no noise at all as my expert training came into play.

Now I could hear the din of voices as I got to the end and there was an abrupt drop down into the murky darkness, again with that singular glow lost amongst it. 

“Okay Ophelia, here’s the plan- we’re going to use a simple floating spell and-“

Yes, and then I fell. I did say I was known for my clumsiness. 

I let out a scream as I tumbled into the darkness and just prayed I wouldn’t be dead by the end of it. The orb was getting closer and closer now and the voices were rising in pitch. 

“What the….” I said aloud as I realised too late that it wasn’t a lantern that I was falling towards but rather a portal of some sorts. 

I tried to pull back up but it was too late. My staff was a lazy thing even on a good day and right now it really couldn’t be asked to get me out of a very very sticky situation. So instead I braced myself for wherever I would end up. 

END OF PART ONE.

Picture Credit: http://sirtiefling.deviantart.com/art/Chaotic-Sorcery-508208693

Leave a Reply

