Posted in poetry

Inner Workings

Inside my brain is a meeting,

Of important executives.

Each one of them feeding,

The monster caged in it.

They regiment my emotions,

Pass the cogs down the

conveyor belt.

Each one of these employees,

Ignoring the monster

Who exaggerates being heartfelt.

 

It burns

It seethes

Takes over me

The monster is finally out!

 

Disrupting the production line

This chaos I’ll admit is mine

Through the guise I wear discreetly

That answers you back so

Sweetly.

 

 

A/N: The lead up to a panic attack. I like to imagine the inner workings of Β the mind as something organised and rational but with hidden complexities that we subconsciously hide away. Admittedly my idea of this “regimented” process of the brain in itself could be seen as exaggerated in the sense that the brain is just as fickle as our own emotions.

I don’t know if any of that made any sense,

Sincerely,

E

Leave a Reply

